CleanYourCar
It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:13 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 7:53 pm 
Sponge

Hi, I have a new Carbon Grey (dark grey metallic) GTD arriving in a few weeks, and could do with some advice on how best to prep and protect the new paintwork please.

I have asked that the dealer leaves the shipping wraps on, and leaves this to me on collection. My plans are below, based on some products I already have, and the limited time I have. Please point me in right direction. I can borrow a good DA polisher off a friend, but wary of using it given I have no experience.

1. Remove wraps and wash car with Poorboy's Super Slick & Suds Shampoo, and lambswool mitt.
2. Dry car with large drying microfibre, and inspect before taking home...
3. At home, wash car again, and dry.
4. Cleanse car using either Swisswax Cleaner Fluid or Dodo Lime Prime, help? (I have both)
5. Apply Poorboys Black Hole. (I have this already).
6. Apply either Poorboys Liquid Natty's Blue or EX-P or EX Sealant. (I plan to buy one of these).

Thanks, any advice much appreciated, Mark.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:24 pm 
Fist up...welcome to the CYC forum.

I'm pleased that you have taken the sensible approach of detailing the car yourself, as opposed to letting the dealership just perform a quick valet.

Having said this, I would strongly advise you to let the Dealership remove the shipping wrapping and they inspect the paintwork before you see it. This will avoid any unpleasant surprises and potential denials.

Getting down to the nitty gritty:

You will need to decontaminate the paintwork fully before you apply any products.....Wash, de-tar, iron fallout remover and clay bar.

Then you will start to see the true extent of the state of the paintwork.

You have two different products in the swissvax and ddj lime prime. ...Swissvax is purely a cleaning product, whereas DDJ LP has cleaners, abrasive and fillers in it ( a hybrid product).